Weekly Dishes – Honey Baked Chicken

Remember a few weeks ago I shared with you that I had something new in the works? Well, it’s finally time to launch my new series: my Weekly Dishes.

One of the things that several people said when I asked for feedback on what they wanted to see was “more recipes!” Apparently all the posting and sharing of different meals was too enticing, and I needed to follow it up with something they could go with.

So, because you asked, here is your new series, where I will pick one dish a week (it may be an entrée, a dessert, or something in between), and share the recipe with you. I will endeavor to also share the complete meal plan with you too, because one of my pet peeves about recipes is that they often leave you at a loss for what to serve with it! So, whenever I share an entrée, and if applicable, I will also share what else I cook with it.

Without further ado, here is my first recipe: Honey Baked Chicken.

This recipe is a family heirloom (sort of). It’s a meal I grew up with, and honestly I don’t know where my Mom got it (she may not be sure either). It’s a staple in my household, and while it takes time to cook, the recipe itself is VERY easy. A great choice for busy moms.

Here’s what you’ll need:

20160406-DSC_0015

Serves 2 adults and 2 children.

  • Two Chicken breasts
  • 1/3 cup Unsalted butter (can use salted if it’s all you have on hand)
  • 1/3 cup Honey (sorry, I forgot to put this in the picture)
  • 2 tablespoons Mustard (any kind works, but I typically prefer Dijon. I used Spicy brown mustard this time)
  • 1 teaspoon Curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon Salt (less if using salted butter)
  • a small saucepan
  • large casserole/baking dish (does not need to be glass)
  • meat cutting board
  • knife
  • wooden spoon
Oven temp: 350; cooking time: 1 hour 15 min. Prep time: 10-15 min
Step one is to preheat the oven to 350. While you’re waiting for the oven to heat up, cut up your chicken into smaller portion sizes (I typically cut them into 4 or 5 pieces, depending on the size). If your chicken breast is thick, butterfly cut it so that it will cook more evenly (I’ve put a link in for you in case you don’t know what butterflying is, but basically, you cut it lengthwise most of the way through, but not all the way). Go ahead and put those chickens into the baking dish.
20160406-DSC_0018
20160406-DSC_0019
When you’re done with that, heat the saucepan on medium, and melt the butter. Watch it closely to ensure that you don’t burn the butter.
20160406-DSC_0016
20160406-DSC_0022
Once it’s completely melted, remove it from the heat, and add in remaining ingredients (honey, mustard, curry powder, and salt). Mix it all together. You’ll end up with a sauce that looks like this:
20160406-DSC_0025
Pour the sauce over the chicken, making sure to coat the chicken as much as you can.
20160406-DSC_0027
Then stick it in the oven! Cook for 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes (depending on how golden you want it), basting every 15 minutes.
20160406-DSC_0032
20160406-DSC_0035

This is what it’ll look like about halfway through.

And then you’re done!
20160406-DSC_0040
I typically serve this with white rice, salad, and some other simple vegetable (like corn or peas). You could certainly eat it with bread, but eating the rice with the sauce poured over is simply amazing. I think I like it better than the chicken.
20160406-DSC_0038
20160406-DSC_0041
20160406-DSC_0045
20160406-DSC_0049
Enjoy!

20160406-DSC_0055

20160406-DSC_0051

I'd love to hear your thoughts! What did you think of this post?

