DIY Garden Sign

Hi friends! I have another fun little project to share with all of you today.

I recently found this old 2×4 cutting in our shed. I think I’d set it aside at some point thinking it would make a good swing seat. Of course, without the right tree branch or power tools to turn it into one, it ended up just sitting there.

But when I rediscovered it, I realized it would make a perfect sign. Then it proceeded to sit in the dark again for a couple weeks more (please tell me I’m not the only one who does that).

So this afternoon, I finally went upstairs, got my can of spray paint, and decided to go for it. The result?

20160404-DSC_0032

Here’s what you’ll need for this project:

20160404-DSC_0001

  • a piece of 2×4 (preferably at least 1 foot long, and up to however long you want it)
  • a can of spray paint (I used red, since it was what I had, but a pink or blue would be fun too)
  • a marker (I have a silver pen in the photo, but ended up going with gold; you’ll forgive me, won’t you?)
  • a hook and nails (you should be able to find a picture hanger kit with these pretty easily at any craft or hardware store; not pictured)
  • a hammer (not pictured)
  • a towel (not pictured)
  • newspaper

Step one is to make sure that your board is clean. Wipe off any dirt or dust (or cobwebs), and make sure it’s dry.

Take that board, the spray paint, and your newspaper on outside. Lay the newspaper down, and if you happen to struggle with slight winds, you can use masking tape to hold the newspaper down (don’t do it on a super windy day, otherwise you’ll get paint all over you).

20160404-DSC_0018

Now shake up that can and get spraying.

Let the paint dry completely (the drying time will vary depending on your paint variety, and how much you put on). If you feel it needs another coat, go ahead and put on a second coat.

20160404-DSC_002120160404-DSC_0030

Once it’s completely dry, take it back inside, and grab your marker. Now I did a terrible job at centering my letters, but a quick rule of thumb is to start with the middle letter (or letters if your word has an even number of words), and write those first, making sure to center them. Then write the remaining letters. If you feel that you have terrible handwriting, you could always use letter stickers, but bear in mind that they may not last as long.

Draw the arrow last.

20160404-DSC_0032

Once you’ve written the word(s) down, take the board off the table, and lay the towel down. This will keep your table and your board from getting scratched up while you hammer the hook on, as well as soften the sound (should you have sleeping babies or sensitive neighbors).

20160404-DSC_0035

Place your hook on the board as close to the center as you can.

20160404-DSC_0042

Then, hammer in one nail, just enough to hold it in place. Realign the hook to make sure it’s level. Hammer in the second nail, and then hammer in the first all the way.

20160404-DSC_0043

 

20160404-DSC_0044

And you’re done!

20160404-DSC_0032

20160404-DSC_0048

Yay! You could literally write whatever you want, but I love the invitation that a “garden” sign indoors makes, even if you don’t have a garden.

Now go have fun!

20160404-DSC_0058

P.S. If you’d like to know how I lined my shelf with fabric (like you can see in two photos above), you can find that tutorial here.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! What did you think of this post?

