How to Update a Jar

Hi friends! Isn’t this weather glorious?? I’ve been waiting for just such a lovely, sunny day for this project, and I’m so excited to share it with you.

I shared with you a while back about the beautiful glass jars that I have in my pantry. They were given to me by my mother-in-law, who had collected them over many years for use in her own pantry. But in their recent kitchen update, they decided to switch to different containers that fit their new setup better, and she asked if I would like to have them. Would I ever!! There was no hesitation in my answer: yes.

I’ve loved using them ever since, but had always wanted to paint the lids so that they were all the same color. Also, the advertisement for pickles was kind of getting old. And so, I recently purchased a can of gold spray paint, and today was the day I stepped out and did some spraying.

Here’s what you’ll need for this project:

20160209-DSC_0084

  • Jar lids
  • A can of spray paint
  • Newspaper
  • A sunny day (or a well ventilated room, such as your garage with the door open)

Your first step is to make sure that those lids are clean. Mine were in pretty decent shape, as I had washed them all recently, so I didn’t clean them again, but if they do have any dust on them, go ahead and suds up and get them clean.

Next, spread out the newspaper.

20160209-DSC_0087

Lay out the lids on top of the newspaper, and spray away!

20160209-DSC_0089

Now, I found out that these lids needed a lot more paint to totally cover them than I thought, so I actually ran out of spray paint, so make sure to get a large can if you have a lot of lids to paint.

20160209-DSC_0091

Next, let them soak up some sun for at least 30 minutes (check the label on your can; some spray paints may require more time to dry).

And you’re done!

20160209-DSC_0099

I’m so happy with how these turned out!

While I’m on the subject of the pantry, I’ve been wanting to change the liner that is currently in there, and I wanted to share a sneak peak of the options I’m looking at, and I would LOVE your feedback:

Option 1:

Isn’t this so bright and fun? And apparently it’s scented too; not quite sure how I feel about that, but it sounds somewhat attractive. (Here‘s the Amazon link for it)

Option 2:

Michel Design Works Scented Drawer Liners, Blue

I recently decided to change my kitchen colors to blue, white and gray, so this is an option that would match the kitchen. (Here‘s the Amazon link for it)

What do you guys think? Should I go with the bolder pink one? Or stick with the kitchen color scheme?

If any of you have a shelf liner that you love, and would be willing to share it with me, I’d love to see it! Feel free to leave a comment with a picture of what it looks like and where you got it.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! What did you think of this post?

