How to Make a Necklace

Now I know that this how-to has nothing to do with interior design or home decor, but it was a fun little project I did this week that I simply had to share with you all.

Several months after our wedding, I lost one of the earrings that I wore for the ceremony. I was so bummed; they were my favorite pair that I owned at the time, and I was so disappointed that I wouldn’t be able to wear it any more. I held onto the leftover earring because I couldn’t bear to part with it, and I had hopes that I would be able to find a way to use it, or perhaps even find another identical one (or, miracle of miracles, find the lost earring).

Then, a few months ago, I had the idea to turn it into a pendant. I was so excited about the idea, but didn’t get around to doing it til this week, and I am so pleased with how it turned out.

Here is what you’ll need for this project:

20160122-DSC_0405

  • One earring (you may be able to use a post earring for this project, but I used a dangle earring)
  • Pliers
  • Needle nose pliers
  • Wire cutter
  • Necklace chain

The whole process is really quite simple; all you need to do is to twist the earring post around the joint portion.

20160122-DSC_0415

20160122-DSC_0416

20160122-DSC_0420

Once you’ve finished wrapping it around and creating a loop, cut off the remaining wire with the write cutters.

20160122-DSC_0424

Then, string the chain through the loop, and put it on!

20160122-DSC_0004

20160122-DSC_0006

I’m so happy to be able to wear my earring again!

I'd love to hear your thoughts! What did you think of this post?

