How to Dress Up a Shelf

I know I already posted a how to this week, but this was a little project that I did that I simply could not wait to share with you all. It’s a perfect weekend project, so if you’re looking for something crafty to do this weekend, look no further.

It all started when I was working on simplifying my kitchen décor. I had some stuff that I still wanted to display, but no longer wanted to display in my kitchen. Then I remembered the shelf that I had sitting in the laundry room, waiting for repairs. We all have those projects, right? The ones that just sit in a dark corner, that we’ll get to “someday”? Well, someday had come for that shelf.

The shelf had been in our old laundry room, and I had put our laundry detergent on it. However, over time of using our detergent, it had eaten a hole right through the paint (I didn’t know detergent could do that!). I brought it with us because I liked the shape so much, and had intended to repaint it “someday”, but had never gotten around to getting paint.

Then I had an “aha” moment, and came up with the idea to cover it with fabric! Not only would the fabric cover the hole, but it would add some color and pattern to an otherwise plain shelf.

So, I promptly went upstairs to my craft closet, and pulled out my material. Here’s what I ended up with:

DSC_0173

Isn’t that fun?

Here’s what you’ll need for this project:

DSC_0155

  • A shelf (it need not be damaged)
  • Fabric
  • Glue
  • Tape measure
  • Fabric pencil
  • Fabric cutter and mat (or fabric scissors)
  • Coffee (optional)

Your first step will be to measure the shelf to find out exactly how wide and long you’ll need to cut your fabric. If your shelf has a beveled edge like mine, then only measure to the first edge.

Next, you’ll want to cut the fabric to length. If you want a softer edge, you can add an inch or so on each side so you can fold them under (I didn’t do this, and it came out fine; just make sure that your edges are cut cleanly). Mark your fabric where you’ll need to cut with your fabric pencil.

DSC_0158

Then cut your fabric.

DSC_0160

You’ll end up with something like this:

DSC_0164

Be sure to iron it if you have creases in it like mine did.

Then, glue your fabric onto the shelf, and you’re done!

DSC_0169

DSC_0176DSC_0192DSC_0190

I’m SO happy with how this turned out, and wish I’d thought of it a long time ago!

I hope you have fun with this project. Send me pictures of your shelves! I’d love to hear from you.

Ta-ta for now.

One comment on “How to Dress Up a Shelf

  1. […] P.S. If you’d like to know how I lined my shelf with fabric (like you can see in two photos above), you can find that tutorial here. […]

I'd love to hear your thoughts! What did you think of this post?

