The First Before

I’m really excited about this post. It’s kind of a dream come true for me. I told you about my dream on my first post. My dream to help others create their own one-of-a-kind living environments that they love. Well, this is step one towards that dream.

I had the pleasure of joining D&R Concepts the other day at their demo site. They’re renovating a duplex for a client, and I asked if I could tag along to do a feature, as well as help out. The place had been trashed by the previous owners, and they’d already done a lot of cleanup, but the place still needs work. That said, it is a cute little duplex with LOTS of potential. Let’s start with unit B.

Duplex 5

The kitchen is in need of an update, both in terms of the cabinetry as well as the appliances. But with the natural light that streams in, as well as the close-knit feel of the connection to the dining area, this space could look really quaint.

Duplex 2

The carpeting in the living area had to be removed, and you can see the staining on the floor. Thankfully there was no mold present, so refinishing this area should be easy. D&R Concepts is planning on putting wood flooring throughout the house, and I can’t wait to see the result (that post should be up sometime in the next week or two).

Duplex 7The entry actually faces the stairs, and I am excited to see how this area can shine once we put the wood flooring in, and put the railing back up. There’s something about a staircase in the entry that is so charming.

Duplex 8

And what’s not to love about a laundry room a) on the second floor, and b) flooding with natural light? This will be such a cute little room with a little bit of paint and updating.

Duplex 9 Duplex 10

The upstairs bedrooms all have great natural light, and were definitely in better shape than the downstairs. Although the space is not fancy, it has a great layout.

Unit A was the more beat up of the two, although since the flooring downstairs was wood laminate, it was able to be salvaged.

Duplex 12

Duplex 13

Duplex14

The window by the front door had been broken, and the walls had graffiti on them. ‘Cause we all still have that childhood urge to color on the walls, right?

Duplex 3 Duplex 4

Although it’s not in terrible shape, the outside is in need of some landscaping as well. They told me that they have plans to put more grass in, and I’m hoping there’s budget for some plants as well.

But not everything is in shambles, and there are some definite “diamonds in the rough” as well.

Duplex 6

This simple vanity is actually quite charming, and a great fixture in the small half bath under the stairs. I’m excited to see how it turns out. There was also some beautiful tile work in the kitchen in unit A (which I woefully neglected to photograph, a mistake I won’t make next time).

So there you have it: my first Before post. Be sure to come back and check out the After!

2 comments on “The First Before

  1. […] In case you missed it, I had the privilege of visiting the worksite of D&R Concepts a few weeks ago, and posted a “before” article of their work. You can find that article here. […]

  2. […] you’d like to see more of the before, here‘s the original […]

I'd love to hear your thoughts! What did you think of this post?

