DIY Fall Wreath

Wreaths are such an obvious sign that fall has arrived. It seems that no sooner than the leaves start to change color that you start to see wreaths magically pop up on all of your neighbors front doors.

Wreath 2

I’ve never been one to participate in this activity, the only reason being that I didn’t have a wreath hook for my door. That is no longer the case. This year, I took “the plunge” and purchased a wreath hook for our new home. Of course, I still needed a wreath to hang on it, so that was today’s project.

Wreath 1

Here are the supplies I used:

  • 12in wreath form
  • Hot glue gun and glue sticks (I ended up using about 3 sticks)
  • Cinnamon sticks
  • Acorns
  • Pinecones
  • Leaves
  • A couple wheat stalks
If you want to make the wreath even more fragrant, buy those scented pinecones and use that. I already had a bunch that I’d picked up on walks with the kids, so I used those. As for the leaves, I borrowed some from the neighbors yard. Hopefully that was ok with them.
Wreath 3
First I glued all the pinecones, acorns, and the cinnamon sticks to the wreath form. Be sure to secure them well with the glue. If you want to make them extra sturdy, you can use twist ties or florist wire to secure them. Flip the pinecones in all directions to make it look even.
Wreath 4
After that, I filled in the crevices with the leaves. If you’re door is particularly exposed, gets a lot of wind, or you simply have a habit of slamming doors and want to ensure they don’t all end up on the floor, then I recommend you gluing the leaves on as well.
That’s it! You’re all done. Go hang it up on the door and enjoy the beautiful creation you just made.
Wreath 5
I'd love to hear your thoughts! What did you think of this post?

