Room Reveal – All Set for Living

I hope you’ll forgive me for the lack of posts the last few days. While I am good at most forms of technology, photo editing is something I have yet to dive into. All of the gorgeous photos you’ve seen so far have been graciously edited by my amazing husband, and with a few other major events going on this week, it took him a few days to get around to editing the most recent set of photos. Eventually I hope to have him teach me some of his tricks in regards to editing the perfect photo.

Anyway, I hope you’ve been anticipating this post as much as I’ve been anticipating posting it! I’m so excited to share our newly set up living room. It has been such a joy to finally be able to use this space! Our past home had one living space, so when we moved into this house, we only have enough furniture to fill, you guessed it, ONE living space. We decided the family room was more important to fill and utilize, so it all went there. For about 5 months, the living room sat empty. Then, slowly, gradually, we started adding pieces: first an end table we got at an auction for $25, then the coffee table ($5 at a thrift store), then the splurge on the couch from some friends ($150), a couple of lamps from my parents ($10), and finally, those thrift store finds I told you about in my last post, a rocking chair for $15 and an arm chair for $10. All in all, combined with the piano and floor lamp we already owned, we outfitted this living room for the wonderful price of $215. Not bad, in my estimation.

Living1

We’re still looking for a few more pieces to add (a few more end tables, as well as a bench seat along the window), but I am SO pleased with how this space is looking! I’ve always wanted a formal living space that was dignified but relaxed, and I feel like I’ve managed to do that.

Living3

It took me forever to figure out what theme I wanted to go with in the living space. Most of my husband’s furniture and décor that he’d purchased had that modern feel to it, which was fine, since he tempered it with the one theme/style we both love: the Tuscany feel. He had a BEAUTIFUL painting of a landscape on the wall that was great (it’s gracing the family room now), but it wasn’t the regal, old fashioned living space I’d envisioned. As I pondered on how to recreate the space in our past home, I bought items slowly, and only the things that I fell in love with. If it wasn’t unique and something I absolutely loved, it didn’t come home with me.

Finally, towards the end of our time there (which was 5 years), it dawned on me as I was looking around the space. I had filled it with paintings, plates, and statuettes of different kinds of animals, mostly birds. I had my theme: nature.

Living4

Living7

So, as you can see, when we moved in here, it was easy for me to think about items and styles that I wanted to look for in new items for this space. Furniture pieces that would exemplify my love of nature, all while embodying the traditional living room. The couch was perfect, since it had a leafy pattern that was visible, but subtle enough to blend with everything else. The lamps were also perfect (although I ended up splitting them up with another pair of lamps I already owned). In an attempt to unify them, I swapped the lampshades so that they matched: the living room has the more rounded lampshades, to go with the round shade on the floor lamp, while the family room ended up with the square shades, to go with the rectangular shade on the floor lamp in there. This is an easy way to unify pieces in a room, but still have some differences.

 

Living6

It also helps to have talented family members. Two of the paintings in here were done by two of my very talented and artistic sisters-in-law, and the photo on the coffee table was a picture of my wedding bouquet by one of the same aforementioned sister-in-law. And what’s easier than throwing all the leaves and pinecones that your kids pick up on walks into a bowl? Instant centerpiece. The doily was made by me, myself, using a pattern my mother-in-law loaned me. I love doilies, and I LOVE making them even more.

Living2

Anyway, I think I’ve talked enough about this space. It’s still a work in progress, and I have dreams of putting wood flooring in here, so that it’s even more formal, but even as it is, I love it. It’s probably my favorite space in the house (although I also love the dining room, and the kitchen, and the master bath, and Abigail’s room, and….you get the picture).

What would you like to see next?

I'd love to hear your thoughts! What did you think of this post?

